Menu
Log in


Log in

Upcoming events

    • Friday, March 01, 2024
    • 7:30 PM - 9:30 PM
    • BSU Education Building Room 112

    BSU First Friday Astronomy Talk

    Boise State Physics hosts the First Friday Astronomy events on the First Friday of every month at 7:30p MT on Boise State's campus and online (boi.st/astrobroncoslive). Visit  https://www.boisestate.edu/physics/seminars-and-events/
    for more information. These talks are entirely donation supported and open to the public.

    These popular events are listed on the BAS website for scheduling purposes. Please use the  links above for more specific event information.

    • Thursday, March 07, 2024
    • 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
    • Anser Charter School

    This is a meeting of the Boise Astronomical Society's board. It is open to the public, but old and new club business, star party planning, and other non-astro topics will be discussed.

    This meeting will be held at:
    Anser Public Charter School
    Located at 202 E 42nd St, Garden City, ID


    • Saturday, March 09, 2024
    • 6:44 PM
    • Dedication Point (about 16 miles S of Kuna ID)

    Star Party
    at Dedication Point.

    Who can attend:
    The event is open to any and all, with or without a telescope!

    Where is it:
    South Swan Falls Road Melba, ID 83641

    Latitude/Longitude: 
    43.27666667, -116.3938889
    43°16'35"N       116°23'38"W

    Directions: From Interstate 84 take exit #44 (Meridian) and travel south on Meridian Road. Travel approximately 7 miles and the road will bear right for 1 mile as E. Avalon as you come into the small community of Kuna, Idaho. Turn south on Swan Falls Road and travel approximately 16 miles south to Dedication Point (on your right)

    Other things to consider: Stay tuned  to the following the day before, or the morning of a star party event for the GO or NO-GO status: this will be an email/post from our Groups.io community, our Facebook page, and the BAS website. When we announce a NO-GO, the event has been cancelled, usually due to weather, e.g., high winds, very cold temperatures, clouds, or another issue.

    We suggest you dress in layers - It gets cold very quickly after sundown. 

    We request you bring a red filtered (or LED) flashlight as it helps maintain our dark-adapted vision for optimal viewing

    Try to back in or park in such a way that your headlights won't flood the scope field with bright white light. Some times it is unavoidable but usually it can be minimized. Perhaps, as you approach the area, turn off your headlights, leaving only your parking lights on while you park your car (if safe to do so).

    The start time listed is a few minutes before sun down. 

    If you want to setup your scope in daylight, plan to arrive before a star party’s ‘start’ time. It will take about 2 hours after the ‘start’ for the sky to darken to what we call ‘Astro Dark’. During that twilight, folks will be finishing the setup on their scopes, looking for planets, etc.




    • Sunday, March 10, 2024
    • Idaho

    New Moon

    • Saturday, March 16, 2024
    • 6:54 PM
    • Dedication Point (about 16 miles S of Kuna ID)

    Star Party
    at Dedication Point.

    Who can attend:
    The event is open to any and all, with or without a telescope!

    Where is it:
    South Swan Falls Road Melba, ID 83641

    Latitude/Longitude: 
    43.27666667, -116.3938889
    43°16'35"N       116°23'38"W

    Directions: From Interstate 84 take exit #44 (Meridian) and travel south on Meridian Road. Travel approximately 7 miles and the road will bear right for 1 mile as E. Avalon as you come into the small community of Kuna, Idaho. Turn south on Swan Falls Road and travel approximately 16 miles south to Dedication Point (on your right)

    Other things to consider: Stay tuned  to the following the day before, or the morning of a star party event for the GO or NO-GO status: this will be an email/post from our Groups.io community, our Facebook page, and the BAS website. When we announce a NO-GO, the event has been cancelled, usually due to weather, e.g., high winds, very cold temperatures, clouds, or another issue.

    We suggest you dress in layers - It gets cold very quickly after sundown. 

    We request you bring a red filtered (or LED) flashlight as it helps maintain our dark-adapted vision for optimal viewing

    Try to back in or park in such a way that your headlights won't flood the scope field with bright white light. Some times it is unavoidable but usually it can be minimized. Perhaps, as you approach the area, turn off your headlights, leaving only your parking lights on while you park your car (if safe to do so).

    The start time listed is a few minutes before sun down. 

    If you want to setup your scope in daylight, plan to arrive before a star party’s ‘start’ time. It will take about 2 hours after the ‘start’ for the sky to darken to what we call ‘Astro Dark’. During that twilight, folks will be finishing the setup on their scopes, looking for planets, etc.




    • Thursday, March 21, 2024
    • 7:00 PM
    • Anser Charter Middle school

    Please join us for a prsentaiton by Mike Shipman on observation planning tools and techniques.

    The event begins at 7:00pm and will be held at Anser Charter Middle School  which is located at:

    202 E 42nd St,
    Garden City, ID

    • Thursday, April 04, 2024
    • 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
    • Anser Charter School

    This is a meeting of the Boise Astronomical Society's board. It is open to the public, but old and new club business, star party planning, and other non-astro topics will be discussed.

    This meeting will be held at:
    Anser Public Charter School
    Located at 202 E 42nd St, Garden City, ID


    • Thursday, May 02, 2024
    • 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
    • Anser Charter School

    This is a meeting of the Boise Astronomical Society's board. It is open to the public, but old and new club business, star party planning, and other non-astro topics will be discussed.

    This meeting will be held at:
    Anser Public Charter School
    Located at 202 E 42nd St, Garden City, ID


    • Tuesday, May 07, 2024
    • Idaho

    New Moon

    • Thursday, May 16, 2024
    • 7:00 PM
    • Anser Charter Middle school

    The topic of this meeting has yet to be determined. If you have any ideas or area of interest youd care to share with other members please contact leif406@gmail.com

    The event begins at 7:00pm and will be held at Anser Charter Middle School  which is located at:

    202 E 42nd St,
    Garden City, ID

    • Wednesday, June 05, 2024
    • 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
    • Anser Charter School

    This is a meeting of the Boise Astronomical Society's board. It is open to the public, but old and new club business, star party planning, and other non-astro topics will be discussed.

    This meeting will be held at:
    Anser Public Charter School
    Located at 202 E 42nd St, Garden City, ID


    • Thursday, June 06, 2024
    • Idaho

    New Moon

    • Thursday, June 20, 2024
    • 7:00 PM
    • Anser Charter Middle school

    The topic of this meeting has yet to be determined. If you have any ideas or area of interest youd care to share with other members please contact leif406@gmail.com

    The event begins at 7:00pm and will be held at Anser Charter Middle School  which is located at:

    202 E 42nd St,
    Garden City, ID

    • Friday, August 09, 2024
    • 5:30 PM (CDT)
    • Sunday, August 11, 2024
    • 11:30 AM (CDT)
    • Ponderosa State Park ID

    Ponderosa State Park (McCall) Star Party
    The Park grants BAS members 8 campsites in exchange for two nights of observing  (Friday and Saturday) and some time on Saturday
    afternoon for solar observing. One can attend and participate  without getting one of the campsites, for example one club member has a cabin up at the lake and has brought his solar scope for safe observing on saturday and his regular scope over for astro viewing at night. If this describes your situation you will be able toregister withoutreseving a campsite. Also you may reserve a campsite through the state park, it may not be in the same area as the BAS sites.

    At this time this event is a calendar item only. 

    More details will be furnished as they become available as will the registration and site reservation systems.

    • Friday, September 06, 2024
    • Saturday, September 07, 2024
    • Bruneau Dunes State Park

    The Idaho Star party is held at Bruneau Dunes State Park near Mt.Home Idaho

    This year the dates for the event begin on Friday the 6th of September 2024 and conclude on the 7th, Satuday, September 2024

    The Boise Astronomical Society is NOT taking reservations for ISP at this time. More details will be made available in the near future.

    We put this on the calendar for planning purposes.

Past events

Thursday, February 15, 2024 February Membership Meeting
Saturday, February 10, 2024 Public Star Party
Friday, February 09, 2024 New (no) Moon
Saturday, February 03, 2024 Canceled - Public Star Party
Friday, February 02, 2024 BSU First Friday Astronomy Talk
Thursday, February 01, 2024 February Board Meeting
Wednesday, January 17, 2024 New T-scope workshop
Saturday, January 13, 2024 Public Star Party
Thursday, January 11, 2024 New (no) Moon
Saturday, January 06, 2024 Canceled Public Star Party
Friday, January 05, 2024 BSU First Friday Astronomy Talk
Thursday, January 04, 2024 Jan. BAS Board Meeting
Saturday, December 16, 2023 Public Star Party
Tuesday, December 12, 2023 New (no) Moon
Saturday, December 09, 2023 *Canceled* Public Star Party
Wednesday, December 06, 2023 Dec. BAS Board Meeting
Saturday, November 18, 2023 Public Star Party Canceled
Monday, November 13, 2023 New (no) Moon
Saturday, November 11, 2023 Public Star Party
Wednesday, November 01, 2023 BAS Board Meeting
Wednesday, October 18, 2023 BAS General Meeting
Saturday, October 14, 2023 Eclipse viewing Canceled
Wednesday, October 04, 2023 BAS Board Meeting
Saturday, September 23, 2023 Payette Library Star Party
Friday, September 15, 2023 Idaho Star Party
Wednesday, September 06, 2023 BAS Board Meeting
Saturday, August 19, 2023 Star Party NO GO
Friday, July 21, 2023 Stanley Star Party
Wednesday, July 19, 2023 General Meeting
Saturday, July 15, 2023 Public Star Party
Saturday, July 15, 2023 Pizza & Ice Cream Social
Wednesday, July 05, 2023 Club Board Meeting
Saturday, June 17, 2023 Public Star Party
Friday, June 16, 2023 General Meeting
Wednesday, June 07, 2023 Club Board Meeting
Saturday, May 13, 2023 Public Star Party
Friday, May 12, 2023 General Meeting
Wednesday, May 03, 2023 Club Board Meeting
Saturday, April 15, 2023 Public Starparty
Friday, April 14, 2023 General Meeting
Wednesday, April 05, 2023 Club Board Meeting
Friday, March 17, 2023 Annual Messier Marathon
Friday, March 10, 2023 General Meeting
Wednesday, March 01, 2023 Club Board Meeting
Wednesday, February 01, 2023 Club Board Meeting
Saturday, January 14, 2023 Public Star Party
Friday, January 13, 2023 General Meeting
Wednesday, January 04, 2023 Club Board Meeting
Saturday, December 17, 2022 Public Star Party
Friday, December 09, 2022 Holiday Potluck and Club Meeting
Wednesday, December 07, 2022 Club Board Meeting
Saturday, November 19, 2022 Public Star Party
Friday, November 11, 2022 General Meeting
Wednesday, November 09, 2022 Club Board Meeting
Wednesday, November 02, 2022 Club Board Meeting
Saturday, October 22, 2022 Public Star Party
Friday, October 21, 2022 Education Star Party: Payette Library
Thursday, October 20, 2022 CWI Telescope Lab
Friday, October 14, 2022 General Meeting


Call Us:  +1 (208) 340-9418

Address:
P.O. Box 7002
Boise, ID 83707

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software